Reddit is a very involved forum-based site full of user-generated content. Many enjoy the interactive aspects of the community, but some users may exhaust their desire to participate. If you are ready to delete your Reddit Account, follow instructions for how to delete Reddit account below. However, be advised that this will not delete posts you have made in the past. You will need to delete the individual content you no longer want to be posted prior to deactivating your account.
How to Delete Reddit Account
Step 1: Go to the Reddit homepage, and login to your Reddit account.
Step 2: Locate the navigation options in the upper right part of the screen. Next to your username, you will see messages, preferences, and logout. Select preferences.
Step 3: You will see navigation options appear in a banner. Select the rightmost one, “Deactivate Account.”
Step 4: Reddit will ask you to type why you are leaving. Then, you will be prompted to enter your username, password, and to check a box acknowledging that your deactivated account will not be recoverable.
Step 5: Click “Deactivate Account.”
Step 6: A yellow textbox will appear at the top of your screen, confirming your account has been deactivated.
Step 7: Exit out of Reddit. You may continue to explore the website in the future, but will be unable to respond to up-vote comments unless you make a new account.
Note:If you do not revisit your old posts and delete them, they will still appear on Reddit. However, your username will not be connected to this old content; in place of your username, [deleted] will be provided. Efforts to hand-delete individual posts you made are only important if you do not want the post itself to be seen or commented on in the future.
With the steps above, you should have no trouble in determining how to delete Reddit Account. However, if you encounter any problems, you may reach out to Reddit by scrolling down to the bottom of the page where several links are listed under “Help.” Please share any issues you have had completing this process or provide insight into any efforts you made to remove your old user content prior to deactivating your account.